Anvil or Hammer


I tried to buy a new kettlebell

Posted in Uncategorized by Mike on June 22, 2009

When I visited Chris Rice recently he showed off his latest second hand acquisition, a pink, 8K, competition style kettlebell. It may sounds silly but the smaller kettlebells can be incredibly brutal, a few sets of clean or snatches and they are disproportionately hard on the trainees forearms. A competition style bell is much larger surface area, easier on the forearms.
I decided to buy one of these for home, I don’t use an 8K much but I’d be grateful and Laura would enjoy the relief from the beating of the smaller 8K bell. I decided not to wait from one to come up second hand but just get one. This meant going to the American Kettlebell Club (AKC) website and finding the page where to order from. I sent them $70 via paypal and I waited.
Ten days passed and I heard nothing. I sent them an emailing asking if they normally send any kind of confirmation email and what was the timeframe for my kettlebell. They told me it would be three weeks and they would ship it. I waited five weeks and after hearing nothing I emailed again. They promised me that they were waiting for their shipment but I’d have it soon enough. At this point Laura said she was tired of waiting and I was too, we canceled our order.

At this point, I’ll buy all my kettlebells on the second hand market or from the Art of Strength collection.

2 Responses to 'I tried to buy a new kettlebell'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Chris Rice said,

    I’m sorry – the bells are great but back orders really suck – and AKC seems to have more back orders than seem necessary for a growing business.

  2. Mike said,

    The back order didn’t quite bother me as much as their abject failure to communicate anything. I would have tolerated the backorder if I felt like they were ever going to send it.I’ve never been a fan of the company but that sealed the deal for me.


Comments are closed.


