Anvil or Hammer


10 minutes

Posted in Uncategorized by Mike on April 22, 2009

work, life and weather appeared to wish to conspire against me but, due to a lucky break in the rain, I got the dog walked and found myself with 20 minutes to spare…what to do with 20 minutes

24K  10 minute snatch test – 160
30 second breaks at 5:30-110 and 8:00-140
avg hr 169
max hr 199

tomorrow ill probably just be swings with the 16K.

3 Responses to '10 minutes'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Chris Rice said,

    199 Max HR – that’s pushing pretty good there buddy!

  2. Mike said,

    I wouldn’t trust that number. I’ve hit 190+ in earnest before and I know what it felt like, a quick death. I think the 199 was probably a momentary glitch, it could have been technical or it could have been that moment when I had a bit of phlegm looking fighting for the honor of leaping into my lungs. This is why I have said repeatedly that I would like to get a much fancier heartrate monitor. A max and an average are close to meaningless. If I had a graph of my heartrate over time I could see if the 199 was a brief spike or if it was more of a plateau and I was training dangerously.Bad data is worse than no data.

  3. Chris Rice said,

    Mike – I get the same thing sometimes. I’ve had a couple 201s etc pop up. I think the only way this old body will ever see a legit 201 is if I plug myself into a wall socket or something.


Comments are closed.


