Anvil or Hammer


work got the better of me

Posted in Uncategorized by Mike on January 17, 2009

I hadn’t intended to go 3 days without any training, it just came to me easily. This week we migrated emails systems at work, I was probably only there an extra hour or hour and a half per day but it was enough to stomp on any desire I had to do anything. Couple that with the weather and our oven acting up for a couple days and I just took the easy way out and didn’t do much. I did try to keep a handle on my eating though. I did grab a teriyaki wrap one day, that was tasty but way more than I needed to eat. Prior to the holidays I would grab this same wrap and then go looking for more. This week, I ate half of it and thought, I should stop. Alas, I still haven’t developed the discipline for that yet, however I did go very light on supper that night.
Today I decided I had to train, to do something, even if it wasn’t much.

24K kettlebell Clean and Jerk 10/10 X 5
Time: 9:11 (I did rest, 1:20 and a little over a minute)
Avg Hr 164
Max Hr 180

I can probably use this as a benchmark down the road.

I thought a bunch more about he Warrior Diet Dan referenced in his comment on the previous post. My visceral reaction to reading about it and reading a chunk of it was complete revulsion. The pseudo science it claims to be based on should require jail time of the author. There’s no basis at all for it. That said, what if I looked at the diet another way, what if instead of all the fluff, conjecture and the occasional flat lie, someone just said “Here’s the idea, you eat whole and raw foods, you eat as little as you can but without getting exhausted and dysfunctional each day, then at night, you have a huge meal, all you can eat, still whole or raw but whatever you like within those boundries”. Well, if someone said that, I would say it sounds like an interesting proposal. It’s not all that far off from what I’m doing now, a single bowl of oatmeal, about a cup or so of food several hours later then a normal dinner.

Although, I must confess, writing that out draws me to a whole new conclusion. Slimfast used to say “a shake for breakfast, a shake for lunch, then a sensible dinner”. How is that different than the warror diet or what I’m doing? Well, you could argue that they aren’t using whole foods. Although if you take a single meal from a restraunt or from a box, it could be argued that you are less “whole food-ish” than slim fast of the 80’s. It makes for an interesting thought train. I guess, in the end, everything old is new again…yest, we’re no closer to a large scale solution.

6 Responses to 'work got the better of me'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Dan Cenidoza said,

    The book doesn’t go into as much “science” as other diet/nutrition books that I’ve read. That’s one thing I really like about it. It looks back on history and the diet is modeled after the way ancient civilization lived and ate. Most of the rationale behind it is common sense I think. The concept of daily fasting is an intriguing one. The look into estrogen promoting foods (and by-products in our environment) is something to pay attention to.

    I couldn’t tell you how many times I’ve told people “breakfast is the most important meal of the day, it jump starts your metabolism” and other similar rhetoric but I’m telling you now, I feel better, am more energetic and more productive when I don’t eat during the day. I usually have 40oz of water upon waking up, 2 cups of black coffee and water the rest of the day until it’s time to feast. It couldn’t be easier.

    But hey, I’m not trying to find a large scale solution or convince anyone that this is the way they should eat, I’m just telling you what I have found to work for me. I would definitely recommend that people try it before they knock it though.

  2. Mike said,

    As I said, the diet isn’t inherently bad, it’s the BS about “looking at ancient civilizations”. That’s completely false. I’ve been eating a breakfast but not until a couple hours after I get up and it’s pretty light one at that. So, as I mentioned, it’s no that far off from what I’m doing.

  3. Dan Cenidoza said,

    What is false about the ancient civilizations bit? It seems believable to me that hunters & gatherers spent most of the day hunting & gathering and did not have time for 3 or more sit down meals a day.

  4. Mike said,

    I’d really rather let this topic die. As I said before, there is nothing inherently wrong with the diet and I’m glad you found something that worked. The original point of the paragraph was to indicate that the diet isn’t bad but that I had to separate it in my head from the propaganda it is bottled with to give it a fair shake.

    First, I disagree that hunter-gatherer = warrior. I agree that a warrior didn’t/doesn’t get “three hots and a cot”. I disagree that they eat one large meal each evening. I disagree that they only ever get one large meal per day. I disagree that they don’t ever get more than one large meal per day. I disagree that were healthy or have a good life expectancy. I disagree that warriors had much of a training regimin, more skills practice than physical training. I don’t be humans have an instinct to be lean. I don’t believe the Grecians, romans or Egyptians were thin because of their diet or food timing. I could go on…

    I also want to point out that we have modern tribes of hunter-gatherers, they are thin but not very healthy, the reason they are thin is very apparent. We also have modern warriors, or soldiers as we call them now. They are also very thin, the reason is very apparent. I was one for a very short while and I dropped to my lowest bodyweight since early highschool or possibly junior highschool, I never weighed myself to know for sure. I ate 3+ times a day, anything I wanted, it wasn’t diet. In fact, I almost certainly at less after I was done and gained the weight back quickly.

    So that’s it from me on the diet discussion. If you want to talk about it more, email me, I’ll be glad to discuss it there, but I’m done doing any talk about popular diets on my blog. It’s just too much static everytime.

  5. Dan Cenidoza said,

    Delete this comment if you want. First of all, I don’t know why you’re being so testy with me. From the email correspondence a couple weeks ago to your cutting our conversation short here. What’s your problem? I’ve never seen anybody take the defensive so easily through an internet exchange! And I didn’t see any “static” until you started posting your snide remarks, and somehow I don’t think they have a damn thing to do with diet.

  6. Mike said,

    you totally mistook that, I’ll just email you.


Comments are closed.


