Anvil or Hammer


Talking a mile a minute

Posted in Uncategorized by Mike on January 9, 2009

I’m conducting training these days for my coworkers. I have to use someone else’s material and cover 90 minutes worth of info in 60 minutes, plus take questions. It’s interesting.

Today was good, I woke up with a very small amount of muscle stiffness in my lower back from the clean and jerks. It cleared up as soon as I took a hot shower and hasn’t bothered me since. My sore throat is all but gone and I weighed myself this morning and found I was down 1.2 pounds.

3 Responses to 'Talking a mile a minute'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. gene said,

    Mike, I will share a food idea that I have used in the past and am now returning to this. The main idea is to postpone the first meal of the day for about 1.5 to 2 hours after I awaken. This means that (with light traffic in Nebraska) that I consume some food in the car just before I arrive at work, or right after I arrive at work. Generally, this is a mostly drinkable and healthy nutrition. Fat free cottage cheese diluted with grape (or some other healthy fruit juice that tastes good with cottage cheese), and then add some ground flax seed for fiber and healthy oil. Other finger foods that are good are boiled eggs, low fat meat and cheeses. This results in less hunger late in the am hours, so I can be more comfortable until the noon meal.

    Another thing that helps is to have calcium antacid tablets available. When hunger strikes, plan on allowing one tablet to dissolve in your mouth, and then no fluids for at least 30 minutes. This helps to decrease stomach acid and the feeling of hunger. The extra calcium is good for us too. But, don’t take more than the daily recommended amount.

    Over the past year or two, I have had breakfast before leaving home, and just get very hungry about 10 am. So, I am back to the foods in the car (in Nebraska, the traffic is light). Or, take a few minutes after arriving at work for the first calories of the day.

  2. Mike said,

    Gene,
    Those are actually very interesting thoughts. I’ve never heard the one about the Calcium tabs before although Laura says she remembers hearing about it. The bit about waiting an hour or two is kind of counter intuitive for me, largely because of the way the “amateur strength community” thinks. Counter intuitive doesn’t mean wrong in any way. We have a full compliment of appliances at work. I’ll try doing oatmeal and coffee after I arrive at work this week. We’ll see how it goes.

  3. No. 6 said,

    Sad thing is that you currently have a “full compliment of appliances at work”, versus at home. We’ll get together tonight to discuss what time may work best for you in terms of getting the oven looked at. Even if the guy could come on Saturday or next Monday when we’re both off, that would be OK by me. 🙂

    Stupid oven. Obviously Steve broke it.

    STEVE.


Comments are closed.


