Anvil or Hammer


‘nother day

Posted in Uncategorized by Mike on January 7, 2009

doing well today, after the “heavy” session. That was really surprisingly heavy. I think I may try to do 2 kettlebell sessions a week, a “heavy” and “light”. For the short term, light will mean 16K and heavy will mean 24K although I’d like to see those bump up. Additionally I may use some of the heavier, nearly untouched, bells in on the heavy days for some low rep stuff.Β 

The throat is feeling marginally better, I’ve been using some hard candies that a coworker left as lozenges. It’s extra sugar but that’s all most lozenges are.Β 

Today it was hard to wake up. It doesn’t sound like I was alone in this, I thought it was just post vacation malaise. Also my left calf seems want to tighten up. It started late yesterday. This happens occassionally, usually when changing uping training (in this case from 0). I don’t know the cure other than stretching it a bit more and being aware of it. If I don’t pay attention it can occasionally cramp.

I need to book a doctor’s appointment this month. I want to do the test, cholesterol, thyroid blood tests. Beyond that, I presume I’m relatively healthy. He’ll tell me I need to lose weight but I’m already working on that one.

8 Responses to '‘nother day'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. No. 6 said,

    It’s not just you having the hard wake-up problem. EVERYONE in my office has had a hard time getting up in the morning after this particular break. A few people mentioned that the break seemed longer this year than last, even though it was the same length. Fran mentioned that she begrudgingly got up at 6:30 this morning, and called campus three times in the hopes that we would open late. It’s pretty unusual, even for her. πŸ˜€

  2. Mike said,

    yeah, I’m hearing echos of the same here. Odd how sometimes everyone just agrees that we all need a day off.

  3. Karianne said,

    Hi! Mike,

    A Biggest Loser @ the office. Sounds like good fun to me. πŸ™‚

    Hope that your throat gets to feeling better.

    < Karianne

  4. Scott Styles said,

    This break _was_ longer, due to the leap second.

  5. Chris Rice said,

    Mike – consider some additional blood work perhaps. Certainly a CBC, etc – it may be good to do a Vit D and Zinc level also. There’s a million more tests of course but that’s a good start fpr someone with no particular problems. Base line blood work done when you are young can be a really good thing to have later in life if any problems arise. I sure wish I had done it – the balancing act to get it right later can be a real pain.

  6. Mike said,

    Karianne,
    Thanks, it’s improving slowly, although it’s never been too bad. I think I just got dried out or something, I don’t really think it was an infection or anything.

    Scott,
    Ah leap second, should have known πŸ™‚

    Chris,
    I’ll consider those. We have decent insurance but who knows what kind of a medical bill I could rack up without trying.

  7. Chris Rice said,

    A CBC is a complete blood count and is the basic blood work that is usually (heck – almost always) done – insurance should cover it with little left over. Zinc and D are also (at least mine were) covered. I would be kind of surprised if your doc ordered blood work of any kind without a CBC at least. If you want test done – you usually need a reason before they will do it for you. Fatigue and or libido problems will work. Thyroid should also be no problem to get ordered. Hormones can get pretty involved so read up before you worry about your results.

  8. Mike said,

    Seems like sound advice. My intention is to not make any major changes (take meds, radically alter my diet or lifestyles and so on). Any aberrant numbers would be followed up on with another appointment in 6 months or so. If there are none, then I won’t worry about it for a good long while.


Comments are closed.


