Anvil or Hammer


Flip Flops

Posted in Uncategorized by Mike on September 16, 2008

***** Surgeon general’s warning*****
Never, ever do this, you could get injured, maimed, killed or worse (kicked out).

*****End Surgeon General’s warning *******

On tuesdays and Thursdays I have to pack my my food and clothes for a 14ish hour day. Invariable, some things get forgotten. That was the case today. I forgot my gym shows. The good news is tha I take sandals to shower in and those did not get forgotten. So, today’s workout was performed in sandals, which wasn’t all that bad but it left me trying to dodge authority figures on my way to the kettlebells as open toed shoes are forbidden.

3minutes on, 3 minute off
16K snatch X 75 (25/25, 25L)
16K snatch X 75 (20/25, 10/15,5/5,5/5,5/5)
6K chestpass to the wall X 75
8K row 130 (25/25,25/25,10/10,5/5)
24K 2H swing 60 (25,15,10,10)

11 Responses to 'Flip Flops'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Chris Rice said,

    Mike – what kind of bells are you using?

  2. Mike said,

    I’m not sure what kind they are. I can take a picture sometime. They have some 40s that are clearly dragondoors. I think all the others predate dragondoor’s rise to fame. The handles are fatter than the dragondoor handles, the 24 sits a bit lower than a dragon door but the 16s are about the same height. Because of the handle size, I’ve always felt they were harder than the dragondoors I own. I don’t know how they compare to an AKC bell though.

  3. Mike said,

    to add to my comment… the 75 reps in 3 minutes, that was 3 minutes full of snatches, no rest, just switching hands and my watch went off during the final snatch. I wasn’t going at the fastest pace I’ve ever gone but I wasn’t slacking either. On the second set, I actually didn’t quite make the 75 in three minutes, I made 73 and I wrapped up the last two as the alarm was going off.
    I’m assuming it’s the snatches you’re looking at. I can video it next time if you want.

  4. speedstudio said,

    3 out of 4 of my deadlift workouts are done barefoot. I guess I should thank my gym owner again.

  5. Mike said,

    haha, yeah. Honestly, I have nothing against barefoot training. Any workout I do at home is bare foot. At the gym though… you know how they can be.

  6. Chris Rice said,

    I just got a pair of Vibram Five Fingers – awesome comfort – a bit strange looking but would solve your problems. Shoes with heels are simply not good for you.

  7. Mike said,

    Those look pretty neat. I just recently threw out my Keens so I’m in the market for sandals and those are remarkably cheaper than a new pair of Keens. The only challenge I see is in fitting them. Obviously these are shoes you need to try one to fit. Finding a place that will let me try on shoes barefoot may be hard. Did you have any trouble in that area?

  8. Mike said,

    oh, addendum. My current training shoes were purchased specifically because they have no rise in the sole of the shoe. They have thin soles and little cushion. They were cheap for exactly those reasons but it was exactly the combination I was looking for.

  9. Chris Rice said,

    Mike – I ordered exactly the size the fitting chart said I needed according to the length of my foot and they fit great – I got the KSO model. I asked the girl on the phone about fitting and she said the chart seems right on unless you plan to wear the socks with them – then you need to go up one size for that. People always comment on them – that’s always worth a laugh or two. Yesterday was the first day I wore them most of the day – feet are a touch sore today but not in a bad way.

  10. Mike said,

    I ordered a pair last night using the sizing chart. I’ll post back after I get them going. I believe it was the sprint I ordered. I wanted the classic but I wanted a little more holding them on but not too much.

  11. Scott Styles said,

    I am very interested to hear how those work out for you. After my positive experience with my earth shoes (negative heel, plantar fasicitis no longer needs bi-weekly footsie rolling), I am curious about the vibram five fingers.


Comments are closed.


