Anvil or Hammer


Real quick

Posted in Uncategorized by Mike on September 12, 2008

I don’t have a lot of time now but I want to get this down before I forget it. I may come back and comment later.

UB gym

16K snatch 25/25 X 2 (100 reps) – about 4 minutes
12K Jerks (2 bells) 5 reps, rest in the rack for a 5 count X 16 (80 reps) – about 5 minutes – trying to work the rack
24K 2 hand swing 25,20,15,10,10,10,10 (100 reps) – about 5 minutes

circuit
Kettlebell Crunch 12K X 10
burpee
renegagde Row 12K 5/5
burpee
low box jump X 10 
burpee

circuit X 3
about 7 minutes

 

EDIT: I have a bit of time while I’m waiting on some other things to happen, sitting here.

This workout was an attempt to hit some of the basics of kettlebells, the snatch, the jerk, the swing. The last circuit was thrown in at the last second. Going into this workout, I was surprised I hadn’t gotten more wrecked by Tuesday’s workout.  I really wanted to try and do a 10 minute test with a 24K then I thought about the 16K but a 10 minute test in general just sounded like asking for trouble so I laid off a bit. I think I may have laid off too much.

Ah well, there’s always next time.

3 Responses to 'Real quick'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Chris Rice said,

    25 reps per minute in the snatch is really moving – at least for me – no matter what the bell size is. Nice workout – your fitness still seems pretty good after the layoff.

  2. Mike said,

    Thanks Chris. It’s done better than I expected but that is 8K(1/3) less than I was doing this with before. I’m just not quite brave enough to start snatching the 24K yet. I might a little too timid but I’d rather undertrain for a bit than end up back on my couch for a month.

  3. Chris Rice said,

    I’ve been talking to Lorraine Patten , Andrew Duriant and Cate Imes about the AKC recommendation of working light bells for longer time periods before moving up and it appears they have something there that works. Of course some heavier work is done but mostly lighter longer. I’m “making” myself do it for now – we’ll see what my results are as my conditioning goes up. After your injury – I’d error on the light side too – being hurt sucks!


Comments are closed.


