Anvil or Hammer


Ladder Circuit

Posted in Uncategorized by Mike on August 11, 2008

Time 28 min
Weight 12K kettlbell

Snatch 5/5 10/10 15/15 20/20 15/15 10/10 5/5
Squat 5 10 15 20 15 10 5
Push Up 5 10 15 10 N/A N/A N/A
Row 5/5 10/10 15/15 20/20 15/15 10/10 5/5
Crunch 5 10 15 20 15 10 5
T Crush 5 10 15 20 15 10 5

I conceived of this little bit of nastiness today. I kept the weight light because I’m still tuning back up. I’m glad I stayed light too. As seems to be the case with my simplest workouts, it was harder than anticipated. For me the simplest and the easiest seem to be at opposite ends of the spectrum. The basic idea here was to get a full body workout, laddering up by 5 reps until I failed at one exercise and then ladder down. Before I started, I expected the pushups to be the first to go. After I got going, I realized it was a mistake to include them at all, I was seeing ample front delt, pec, tricep work with the kind of crunch I was doing (small crunch, press then further crunch), the Triple Crush and even the squat a bit. If/when I do this again, I’ll leave it out. I think the triple crush will be my failing point but it’ll take me to 30 reps to get there. Then I’ll have to try and bring my time under 30 minutes again.

I have my food diary written down. The biggest thing of note today was that I did permit a couple cookies at  midday. They were left over from the Friday potluck (still in their cellophane) and of a particularly delicious brand, Berger’s, which I assume is local. The package officially lists them at 140 calories, per cookie. They are delicious and my officemates at the rest, thank goodness. Other than that, I behaved myself.

Monday Morning Weigh-in: 243.0

Posted in Uncategorized by Mike on August 11, 2008

nice weight, actually higher than a random Thursday morning weigh in.

On diet. I forgot to bring my notebooka  couple days in a row. So I slacked on the lag. I also fell of the wagon a bit, on Thursday we were locked out of our kitchen at work because they wer filming a handwashing video (I’m not kidding) so I had to wing it and didn’t improvise so well.

Other than that, Ineed to get used to blogging again. I’m just not used to it. I did get to the chrome and fern on Thursday 30 minutes on random. I tried level 12 but it was a bit high so I went to level 10. That kept my heart rate in the lowish 140s. Which is where I would like it.