Anvil or Hammer


I’m the luckiest one

Posted in Uncategorized by Mike on May 25, 2008

First, business. No training this week, the week started ok but went downhill from there. Thursday’s PT session didn’t go much of anywhere. The ruling coming out of the session was, don’t stretch for a while, it’s maybe aggravating things (which is basically what Stephen said the same day in a comment). I made a big change in that, I have used hot pads up until now to mitigate muscle pain. I switched to cold. I did this under the assumption that my PT and Stephen were on to something, the nerve was inflammed and that problem needed to be addressed more than the muscle problem. I also did it in response to the fact that I had used heat that day then got some at PT and felt like my entire sciatic nerve had broken out in a rash.

The switch to cold was awesome. I rotated an hour on and an hour off all day on Friday. I had to stay at work all day, no excuses. The cold got me through. I used some more that night when I woke up in the middle of the night like I have been. I also did not stretch for those days. Then on Saturday I didn’t use heat or cold (partially for fear of using cold too much and reirritating the nerve, like I did with the heat. I’ve been in a good place since then. It still bothers me to sit too long but I’ve been able to sit for 30 minutes to an hour. I’ve been able to be comfortable in positions other than on my right side, which is a good thing because too much of that was becoming uncomfortable. In short, I think I have found something that works. I stretched a little bit today and had not discomfort, tight yet, discomfort no.

I had a moment driving to work on Friday where I was thinking about the comments that you all have posted, the support I’ve received from my in-laws and how much my wife has totally handled this like a champ. I’ve told her repeatedly that she has been awesome throughout this injury and how it has majorly impacted our lives and her life. I’ve mentioned a couple times that I’ve appreciated the support form you all. I just had a moment though where I was just really appreciating it all. So I want to say to all of you again, thanks. You are awesome people and it makes me feel like I actually want to not only get healthy but like I may actually still have the desire to lift when I do. It’s cool to have folks like you all. So thanks.

EDIT:

Last, I just found this on YouTube. I think you will all enjoy it but it’s especially for Brent.

EDIT EDIT:
This picture was taken while I typed this entry πŸ™‚
Everyone at rest

6 Responses to 'I’m the luckiest one'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. No. 6 said,

    The one thing you neglected to mention is the fact that Bern now thinks you’re a piece of furniture. πŸ™‚

  2. Karianne said,

    Dear Mike,

    That You Tube video commercial is hilarious!!

    Hope you get to feeling better soon!

    < Karianne

  3. Scott Styles said,

    Heh, I end up on the floor with my laptop like that all the time. I wish it was an approved posture for working in the office.

  4. brent said,

    funny picture

    that commercial was so dramatic, too, i was distraught when i watched the end

    keep on truckin, Mike, mindset’s the most important thing when it comes to recovery

  5. gene said,

    Mike, I mentioned to Laura (during phone call) that there is another possiblity for your rehabilitation. This would involve locating a Doctor of Osteopathy (D.O., Osteopathic Physician) that specializes in Osteopathic Manipulation Medicine (OMM). I have not done any google searches for this profession in the Baltimore area. But, the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine might be a resource for you to help pinpoint someone close to you geographically. The OMM physical medicine approaches would add to what you have already learned from physical therapy.

    I hope the office visit that you already have scheduled is beneficial.

    Would you consider this present problem your greatest major physical difficulty in exercise activity that you have experienced?

  6. Mike said,

    Laura is correct, the dog seems to want to lay on me constantly, i decided it is because I have been laying around so much that it’s because I have been laying around so much that she considers me a pieceof furniture.
    I’m glad everyone is enjoying the commercial πŸ™‚ As i recall it was in the favorites of someone who had commented on one of my videos that are already out there.

    Gene,
    Laura did mention the OMM and the Philadelphia College of Ostepathic Medicine. I haven’t done anything to contact them yet. I’ll look them up and see what I can find out about getting in with one of them. I have wanted, for some time, to get a thorough health workup, just to see that I am healthy in every way I can manage.
    This is the worst problem I have had. When I was in high school I got hit with a pretty severe sprain but my youth and physical condition allowed it to heal much more quickly. This particular issue has been very emotionally and psychologically taxing. In all honesty though, I have to point out that I did it to myself. I began to have troubles probably two months before finally seeking help.
    I truly believe that I am paying for my negligence and not so much for the injury itself. This could have been nothing but a few prescribed stretches and maybe a few therapy sessions at most had I taken care of it like I should have. I had just grown to impatient with my progress and let my ego get the better of me.


Comments are closed.


