Anvil or Hammer


Gimpin’ on a Friday Night

Posted in Gym Strength,Rest and Recovery by Mike on May 3, 2008

I’ve been doing all my stretches and going to PT and taking my ibuprofen all week. I’ve begun the process of backing down dosing. It’s a very good thing. No training happened until Friday, even then I knew there were huge limitations.

Jump Rope 5:00

Some T-bar row
90, 135, 225 (minus apparatus) X 5
Nothing heavy here, I was just taking it easy and warming up slowly.

Military Bench
135 X 5
225 X 4
275 X 3
300 X 1
225 X 8, 8
My leg was starting to bother me and I just didn’t have the drive to do a third set. It was a decent set of benches for me. An hour had passed.

3:00 Jump rop

From this point on I spent a fair amount of time working on the heavy bag, I didn’t time it, I wasn’t doing anything in particular. I also did my stretches while I was at the gym, this is the first time they gave relief rather than causing more pain.

My appetite is coming back and I’m fighting hard but I fear I am losing. I weighed myself a few days ago at 230, I’ve got to be 231 by now. so things go. I’m injured, I have plenty of time to come back, it’s important I do this right.

Totally unrelated, I’m thinking about migrating my blog back to my own hosting account…..more later.

3 Responses to 'Gimpin’ on a Friday Night'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Ben said,

    I’m glad you are feeling good enough to hit the gym. BTW do not take Ibuprofen for longer than 15 consecutive days. *wink, wink*

  2. Scott Styles said,

    Smart to take it easy getting back into things. The weights will always be there.

    Your blog has been much faster since hosting switched over to wordpress.

  3. Mike said,

    yeah, if only pain and illness understood the rules of medicine. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Scott,

    I forgot about the slowness issues from before. I’ve got enough garbage going on at my domain, I’ll just leave it for now. The only minor annoyance is that I can’t do anything with the template but I’ve got other things to do ๐Ÿ™‚

    hmmm, just realized how long that list of archive months is getting


Comments are closed.


