Anvil or Hammer


Missed 500

Posted in Gym Strength by Mike on April 12, 2008

Well blast, I went into the gym thinking I was finally ready to pull 500 again, no go. I broke it off the floor a couple times but it only moved inches. Ah well, these are the things that keep us going.

Jump Rope 3:00
Deadlift
135 X 2
225 X 2
315 X 2
405 X 2
500 X 0/4
As I said before I felt like I was good for it. Even as I missed my attempts, I knew it was there, they was just something I wasn’t doing, some muscle I wasn’t calling on, something. But it would not be. I think I will work some rack pulls next week from a couple different heights.

Jump Rope 3:00
I enjoy this to reset the body. I also got to wondering if this had contributed to my conditioning from the snatches. I did go about 3 or 4 minutes before I went anaerobic, it seems like a lot of a coincidence that is how long I have been jumping for. There is a lot of practice involved in jumping and I need to get out the awesome jump rope DVD my brother-in-law got me and look at those drills again. I also need to get me a decent rope.

Standing Press
60K X 2
80K X 5, 3, 1

Pull ups
BW X 5, 3,2

I did a bit of messing about here, some situps and jump rope but nothing that was counted or timed. I was just trying to keep myself busy while finding the motivation and direction I needed to go on.

Circuit – as with before, the exercises are a circuit but I give myself ample time between sets
70lbs 4 X 8 DB PRess, DB Row, DB Jerk, DB Dead
I did only make 6 on my last set of jerks. Dumbell Jerking a pair of 70s is harder than I expected.
I think I need to start giving myself a rest limitation to make improvement based on these but they are a nice quick piece to the workout.

DB Static Lunge
70lbs 3 X 6/6 (only got 5 in the last set on the right side: 3 then 2)

Standing Leg Curl
70lbs (no relation šŸ™‚ 4 X 6/6

Hyperextensions
BW 20, 15, 10, 5

Not a bad workout in all, although the deadlift was annoying. I’ll try again in two weeks. I feel like I need something better than 550 this year, especially if I intend to hit my 1380 (1400) goal. It’s look something like (Squat: 500, Bench: 350, Dead: 550). It’s gonna be a tough road but it seems doable to me. I need to get the last of this hip thing worked out and keep plugging the powerlifting with a little kettlebell, sandbag and other mixed in for variety and sanity.

4 Responses to 'Missed 500'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Scott Styles said,

    Hey, I can miss a deadlift with 500lbs too!

    Seriously though, how’d you go from having no business with 220k 3 weeks ago:

    https://anvilorhammer.wordpress.com/2008/03/22/dont-call-it-a-comeback/

    to justifying attempts at 500lbs?

  2. Mike said,

    We call can, but we try not to šŸ™‚
    Well, it was 21 days and it was 484 pounds, twice. My concerns about messing about with it then had to do with considering myself still in recovery from this hip injury. Although my injury nags on, I consider it well enough to lift like I’m serious. 16 pounds, three weeks and the transition from injured to repaired status, is how I decided I would go after it.

  3. Scott Styles said,

    I was not thinking about the hip injury. The attempts make more sense to me now.

  4. Mike said,

    unfortunately, I can’t help but think about it.


Comments are closed.


