Anvil or Hammer


Three Billy Goats Gruff

Posted in Uncategorized by Mike on April 5, 2008

Another evening at Dumbarton

Jump Rope 3:00 X 2
With some movement in between

Trap Bar Deadlift
130,  220,  310, 400, 450, 490, 540, 580
490 3 x 3
I weighed the bar with collars when I was done and it was 40lbs. So that is why the weights might look kinda silly. Each weight was one or two pulls depending on how I felt. Then just hold it for a couple seconds at the top and down. The 580 was good. I went for it a second time but it was a no go. I need to probably pull 630 for 3 or so before June. We’ll see.

2″ Dumbbell Deadlift
50, 100, 120
I should have weighed my DB handle but I didn’t. I got the 120 with both hands but after about two reps on the left hand I couldn’t do that anymore.

Bench
135 X 3
185 X 3
225 X 3
275 X 2
315 X 2

Jump Rope 3:00

That was about an hour or more of work. At this point I got real chatty and blew probably a full 30 minutes. This is what happens when my MP3 player batteries are dead. Although I did get to catch up with a guy I hadn’t seen in there for quite a while, a guy who is going through some nasty injuries. So hopefully it was helpful for him to get to tell his story. I feel for him.

With 30 minutes to go I started a circuit. I allowed myself ample time between rounds to chat, breath, rest, whatever. Once I started a round I went straight through. I did the same number of reps with the same dumbell in a give round. So hopefully this makes sense.
Exercises: Hang Clean and Jerk, Bench Press, Deadlift, Row
40lbs X 15
50lbs X 10
60lbs X 5
50lbs X 5
40lbs X 5

As I got ready to leave I shot some video of “Charles the Elder”, a lifter who comes in with his son, they are both Charles, doing a trapbar pull. Hopefully he received the email ok. As I drove off, I realized I should have gotten some of his son too. I’d make a video called “The three billy goats gruff” :-).

Oh and welcome to the Charles’s to the website.

Charles the Elder may do the December Virtual Meet with me, which would be awesome.

2 Responses to 'Three Billy Goats Gruff'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Scott Styles said,

    You are taunting me with that trap bar. Mine is supposed to arrive Monday. Good lifting.

  2. Mike said,

    haha, I look forward to hearing how it works out.


Comments are closed.


