Anvil or Hammer


Clear Head

Posted in Goals by Mike on March 10, 2008

So, I had delay, postponed and outright ignored my goal setting this year. I just wasn’t in a frame of mind that was conducive to it. I blew right past Groundhog’s Day for round one. March 3rd, I actually thought about it a bit but passed on by. I often say that you don’t need a holiday to make changes, so here we go.

1. Get back on diet. I’ve started this one, just keep going
1a. get below 230
1b. dunno, I feel like I should have something more, I just feel like holding a weight below 230 though

2. Squat
2a. 405 X 5
2b. 450 X 3
2c. 500+ X 1

3. Pull – maintain 500+ deadlift

4 Press
4a. 300+ Bench
4b. 250+ Standing Press (Goals 6 and 7)

As you can see I’m going into one of those periods where I hit the powerlifting stuff again. Why, I can’t say. I just feel the compulsion and figure, why fight it. As spring rolls in, I suspect I’ll get the outdoor training itch back but right now, I feel like picking up something very heavy. You might be wondering where all the kettlebells and rowing is, well it’s there. For the time being, I’m going to relegate kettlebells to a between workouts activity. Rowing will occur once, maybe twice a week.

I realize this doesn’t follow my goal setting technique I was trying out last fall but that is intentional. That technique was just too scattered for even my ADD. Besides, sometimes you just get in a mood. I don’t fell like I have to complete everything above to get some new goals, these are just where I am pointed. I would like to be able to hit all of them in December, in one go…..one moment….

December 5-7th, 2008: Powerlifting
That’s the ticket.

I want to compete in the December 5-7 Virtual Powerlifting Meet at a bodyweight lower than 230 and have a bench greater than 300, a squat greater than 500 and a deadlift greater than 500, meaning a 1300+ total. Let’s go for a 6 X bodyweight total of 1380. Raw mind you.

Goal 52 is 1500 pound powerlifting total, I’m not going to make that a goal for this year but this year aught to put me a lot closer to that.

Thoughts?

2 Responses to 'Clear Head'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Ben said,

    I think the goals for December are attainable. My question is what kind of rep/set scheme will you be following? The 250lb standing press sounds like a motha. What is your current max on that lift? It’s good to see you are back and healthy. 🙂

  2. Mike said,

    Set/rep scheme eh? Well, it’ll vary quite a bit. Fridays will probably always be working up to a single then do some reps in the 80% range. Mondays will be 5 X 5 type stuff for my main lift and Wednesdays will be somewhere in between, call it 3 X 3. I’ll rotate weeks that focus on dead, squat and bench, probably putting bench and dead on the same week and squat on the other week. Assistance exercises will be higher rep, a la Westside. Not a true Westsidian thing, just a little mimicry here and there.
    Standing press, I beleive I have managed 200, it has been some time because this hip issue has prevented me from going past 180 degrees and a good overhead press almost always causes you to go past 180 degrees.
    I’m glad to be relatively healthy. I hope I can get rid of these last twinges and stay healthy for a bit. I’m tired of feeling injured.


Comments are closed.


