Anvil or Hammer


Book Report

Posted in Diet and Bodyweight by Mike on December 11, 2007

1210071210.jpg
That is Whiteout on Moleskin, gawdy I know. That is my diet journal. I wrote down every bit of food I ate yesterday in it. I’ve done so today as well. I’m primarily just trying to use it to make myself aware of what I am eating once again, after that week of garbage. I don’t imagine I’ll keep it for more than a week. I can whip it out again whenever I need to tool again. Which brings me to my next topic, in a round about way.

1210072050.jpg
I’ve been itching to read this book. I eyeballed it at the bookstore for a while but couldn’t convince myself to buy it. I looked for it at the library a couple times but it was never there. Finally, I put a reserve on it. I got the email early last week that it was in and I had 5 days to pick it up. I figured by the time I went last night it would be gone but there it was.

I only go through about half of the forward last night. If the rest of the book is as entertaining, I’m going to enjoy this a lot, but I imagine it will dry out pretty bad at times. Basically this is Stephen of Speedstudio’s approach to eating, but this book covers the basis for that approach. It’s very similar to John Berardi’s Precision Nutrition as well. So far, the basic concept is that the low starch/carb diet was in acceptance long before the low calorie/fat diet. It was effective too. It wasn’t until some bad science crept in that we went all low fat and it has been a seesaw ever since. This book is here to cheer lead for a return to the low carb/starch approach.

I’m considering trying the Good Calories/Bad Calories / Speedstudio diet in February, but no commitment yet. In that vein:
1211070617.jpg

What you see here is my food for the day. Two spinach salads, some fruit, some walnuts (I have raisins and almonds already at work), a casein protein shake made with frozen berries, and a liter of water. Oh, and I said I expected to drop 2 -3 pounds the first couple days back due to water weight. I hit 235.2 this morning. I believe I will lose a little more in the next 24 – 36 hours.

3 Responses to 'Book Report'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Scott Styles said,

    Get ‘r Done!

  2. Mike said,

    I fully intend to, although I would have never guessed you for a blue collar comedy tour fan.

  3. Scott Styles said,

    At the first BBB, Big Steve was there, yelling “Get ‘r Done” on every event. It stuck with me. Larry the Cable Guy is on Napster, so I’ve since listened to most of it. He has his moments.


Comments are closed.


