Anvil or Hammer


100 X 40: Month One Conclusion

Posted in Goals by Mike on November 12, 2007

43. Bend the Red
45. Pinch Deadlift 3 twenty – fives
46. Pinch Deadlift 5 tens
51. Squat Lock out 1000lbs
66. Steinborn lift 315

At the end of month one I’m pretty happy with my progress. I managed to mark a couple items of my list. These were so relatively easy ones, they won’t all come that fast but it’s a great way to start. On the list for the month, I hit the 5 tens. Which Chris may point out forces me to stop whining about my girlie grip. I took a shot at 3 twenty-fives and missed that one, it’s a further gap than I knew. I also tried 2 thirty-fives, to no avail, so I have work to do. Despite any appearances, progress was made on bending the red. I didn’t actually try to bend the red but I spent considerable time reminding myself how to bend. I actually enjoyed training my grip last month, although I have slacked this past week, I hope to bring grip back into the equation and keep it there in the long run. Steinborn lift of 315 and squat lockout of 1000 pounds are both looking decent. I need a chance to give the lockout a shot. I think I’m there, but I want to do it on yoke rather than ruining a perfectly good squat bar. I didn’t spend as much time with the Steinborn as I should have but I can mess with it some more. I hit 225 but 315 can still be a long way off. The good news is that I know I can move the weight, it’s getting it to my shoulders that I’m gonna have trouble with.

All in all, a successful first month by my measure. Month two brings it’s own challenges. It also leads into my first rest period immediately following.

2 Responses to '100 X 40: Month One Conclusion'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Chris Rice said,

    Nice start on the list! As you’ve seen, pinch and friction lifts are strange fellows. Strong at one width does not always mean strong at another, and certain plates are often the difference. I’m usually better at 3-25s than with 5-10s – not sure why really. I think the 1000# lockout is just a matter of getting yourself to a yoke and doing it – it’s a mental lift – you just have to make up your mind to do it. Bending the Red – keep working the flexibility so you can get position – get some coaching when you come to Gripmas – and then give it a try – it may just be there for you! Congratulations on your first month !

  2. Mike said,

    Thanks Chris,I’m looking forward to the coaching, learning and hands on.


Comments are closed.


