Anvil or Hammer


narrative

Posted in Concept II,Kettlebells by Mike on September 25, 2007

So I have to tell this one as a story.

I went in to work my Tuesday sprints, as I have been. I went upstairs and got the pair of 16K kettlebells and brought them down to just outside the cardio room. I did a few windmills and squats just to lube the joints, then I tucked them away so no one would fall over them. I headed over to the rower, closed the vent, turned on my heart rate monitor and stop watch and got down to business.

First, 1,000 meters at a casual pace, about a 2:30 lap time. As I neared the end of the warmup, I slowed down. Then when I hit the end, I stepped on the gas. I rowed 500 meters in the the 1:40s. Then I headed out to begin my double kettlebell snatches. But, where had they gone? I asked around, had anyone seen those blck things I carried through, nope. I looked upstairs, I looked in the weightroom, I could not find them. Then I stuck my head in the office to see if someone there had them. Sure enough, they saw them in a dark corner and thought some lazy butt had just left them out there.

I got them out and set up again. I figured that since I hadn’t gotten to do my whole thing that set didn’t count. I got on the rower and did sprint one again. I got off the rower and found my bells to be right where I had left them. Ten snatches. I went back and forth doing sub 1:50 rows and ladder snatches for a while. A lot of times, I would spend the walk from the rower to the kettlebells trying to remember which set I was on. I would oftern cheat and think about how many meters I had just finished and count from there.

As I hit 3,000 meters I suddenly found my math not adding up. I knew I had done 1,000 meters warmup so that means I should have bet on snatch set four. That should be seven reps this time, but I swear I did that already. It was also getting hard, fast. At 3,000 meters I found myself unable to hold the sub 1:50 pace for 500 meters so I dropped the 1:55 for 250 meters. I stayed there for a total of four, then back to 500 meters at a 1:55 pace. Things still weren’t adding up. I had begun counting down to my last set at 5,000 meters when figuring out how many snatches to do. I was a little frustrated. I had intended on doing 10 sets of 500s to get a full 5,000 out of them. Since I had done 1,000 meter warmup, I had really only sprinted 4,000 meters. Ah well.

Then I hit the cooldown. That’s when it occured to me. I had done 1,000 meters warmup. I had also done 500 meters I decided that didn’t count. However, in my rushing around to find the bells, the monitor had reset. All 5,00 meters were sprinted meters. I wasn’t sucking nearly as much as I thought.

1,000 meters warmup
500 meters sprint 1:50
break
Restart HR monitor
500 meters sprint 1:50
Ladder down from 10 Double kettlebell snatches
X 6 sets
250 meter sprint 1:55
Ladder down from 6 Double kettlebell snatches
X 4
500 meter sprint 1:55
2X Double kettlebell snatches
500 meter sprint 1:55
2X Double kettlebell snatches
Stop HR monitor
1,000 meters cooldown

Monitor
Time 31:56
Avg HR 167
Max HR 179

High box jumps (2 ft?) X 10
Renagade row wuss outs X 5/5
2 sets

The renegade row wuss outs were just me setting up like I was going to do renegade rows but just holding the position as flat and tight as I could

Chin ups 3X3

I think next week I’m gonna stick to 250 meter sprints but try to go sub 1:40.

2 Responses to 'narrative'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Chris Rice said,

    Sometimes a bad memory can mean a good workout! LOL

  2. Mike said,

    that it can. Not the first time I have repeated a set because I didn’t realize I had done it.


Comments are closed.


