Anvil or Hammer


Heart Rate Row

Posted in Cardio,Concept II by Mike on September 13, 2007

This is an experiment. On Thursdays I’m gonna do what I am calling “Heart Rate Rows.” It’s based on several ideas, but first:

45 minutes
9,675 meters
Avg HR 155
Max HR 162

So, the basic idea here is that I want to keep my heart rate around 155 while covering as much distance as possible. Obviously this creates and interesting challenge. There are a couple things that can make that happen improved technique and improved cardiovascular fitness.

I’m wondering if these will work a bit like the 20 rep squat. I haven’t yet gotten into my thoughts on that, and I need to, but the basic idea here is that by training below my max, I can improve some of my less intense level of fitness as well. Basically, improve my aerobic threshold.

Additionally, my body is feeling a little bit beat up this week. I think it was the bodyweight work that took it out of me. So I’m using this low intensity workout to help me recover. The rower seems to be good for that kind of thing.

So, we’ll see how this goes.

2 Responses to 'Heart Rate Row'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Chris Rice said,

    It might be interesting to see what you discover as you do this and then compare it to the things I found and wrote when I did my HR lifting experiment a while back. The rowing is (or can be) more “steady state” and thus should be more predictable – we will see.

  2. Mike said,

    First lesson, something I knew but forgot, exercising in this way makes me exhausted. Not is a muscular way but in a mental way. 30 minutes after I workout I want nothing more than to sleep, a lot. I don’t have this problem when I let my heart rate drift higher. I’ve done almost the exact same distance and time but with a heart rate in the 160’s and low 170’s and not had this effect. I recall when I used to run in the mornings, it was a light run, and all I would want to do is go back to sleep. The first time I went to college, this was a huge problem because on days I did this I would either not go to class or I would fall asleep in class. I didn’t have the same issue if I didn’t run.

    I have to assume this is some kind of an energy systems thing.


Comments are closed.


