Anvil or Hammer


Sit down

Posted in Goals by Mike on September 9, 2007

It’s time I had a chat with myself.

You got a lot going on right now and you need to get your head straight or you’re gonna screw it up. Considering the potential ears, we’ll keep this one limited to training but I’ll get back to you on the other stuff. Don’t think you’re getting off that easy. Here are your goals until the end of the year, quarter 4 of ’07:

  1. Bust that gut – alright boy, you’ve done ok up ’til now. Keep going. You need to hit 225 so you can garuntee and easy 230 for next year. The sooner you hit, the sooner you can move on. Through a combination of diet and regular rowing, this is doable. Keep your diet clean, fiber, protein, fiber, protein. You feel better, have more energy and lose weight this way. Keep hitting th rower three times a week to the best of your ability: Sunday- Long row, Tuesday – Sprints, Thursday – Light. Try to do a little something every single day.
  2. Look for the overlooked – Hit those exercises you neglect, even if they seem like a chore or a waste. Pull ups, rows, curls, tricep stuff and pressing twice a week. These can piggyback on the rowing workouts.
  3. Hand health – you gotta get some some hand health, with the hours you put in on the compy, you need to hit your extensors a couple time a week and you need to hit your flexors at least once. Do these on your off days.

These three goals for the next four months will serve you well.

5 Responses to 'Sit down'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Scott Styles said,

    Care to race to Gripmas in 12 weeks? My 180 to your 225? I weighed in at 193 the middle of last week, 195 this morning…

  2. Mike said,

    wow, 180lbs? I haven’t seen 180 lbs since I was 17 years old. Good for you man, your gonna be as skinny as Doc. Dunno if I would call it a race. More of a, you gotta own up to what you do. Yeah, I’ll see yout 180 with my 225.

  3. Chris Rice said,

    Dang – I won’t recognize either one of you when you walk in the garage – you two might just make it into the SDM (skinny dude mafia)- good luck!

  4. Scott Styles said,

    It’s on!

  5. Mike said,

    Scott’s the real initiate to the SDM. I think he has lost like 60lbs in 12 – 18 months. That’s awesome. I’m gonna hit 40 and take a breather. Scott is much more capable when it comes to focus and duration than I am and I commend him for that.

    The real introduction I’m waiting for is my parents. I haven’t seen them since the very beginning of the year. I hope to get to see them right after Christmas. It’s gonna be interesting to hit them with the whole 40lbs weightloss. They know I’m losing but they haven’t seen me.


Comments are closed.


