Anvil or Hammer


Begin again

Posted in Cardio,Concept II by Mike on July 29, 2007

So, last week was about as off as they come. I ate too much, slept too much and trained to the minimum. This week, back on the horse. I started off pretty easy.

Concept 2
Closed the damper 50%
1,000 meters 2:30 warmup
10,000 meters
target: sub 45:00
actual:
43:35
Averge HR 161
Max HR 182
1,000 meters 2:30 cooldown

It was actually a fairly easy row. Not something I could do without thinking, but not uncomfortable in any way. I’mnot sure I can prove it but I feel like I am doing some good things for my cardiovascular fitness here. I seem to be able to do more with less of a reaction from the heart and when the heart does react, I seem to have less of a reaction from the body. That seems like a good thing to me.

2 Responses to 'Begin again'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Chris Rice said,

    I’m pretty impressed with your rowing actually. You’ve come a long way in a short time I think. It may be time to throw in some short hard stuff at this point – maybe a nasty hard 500 meters now and then – or a brutal 250 meters every once in a while as part of a longer row. The fartlek (sp) system would also be good now and then. It should result in a sightly better aerobic capacity than just the more steady state stuff. Looking good, keep it up!

  2. Mike said,

    Thanks Chris, I have started thinking about some short stuff, i was just concerned that A) it wouldn’t help my weightloss or B) it would be a squander of my limited time with the rower. Still, I think you have a great idea there. I may try to do some sprint stuff with some kettlebell or bag work at the end. It might provide some good variety.


Comments are closed.


