Anvil or Hammer


Wake up call

Posted in Diet and Bodyweight,Kettlebells by Mike on June 18, 2007

I rolled out of bed this morning and thought:
Time to start the 10 minutes of kettlebells routine
Nah, I don’t feel like it, shower time
Nope, time to start
My back hurts, I could hurt myself
Everyone is waiting, gotta do it
Shower
Kettlebells
No
Yep

So I went out to my deck where I had stashed a couple kettlebells. I kne I only had ten minutes to work (I set my watch) but I didn’t want to get too overzealous so I grabbed the 16K
20 2 hand swings
20 1 hand swings per arm
20 cleans per arm
20 snatches per arm
At this point I was sweating and feeling good, I liked what I was doing and thought I might ladder back down. A quick check of the watch shows 4:57 remaining, so I’ll challenge myself to finish the ladder back down before time runs out.
20 snatches per arm
ooh, lower back is rebeling with spasms, I’m gonna have to break myself into this
So I put the bell down with a good 4 minutes to go and got out a broomstick and did some light stretching and squats.

That was my first mornig workout.

5 Responses to 'Wake up call'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Scott Styles said,

    I’m curious how this leaves you feeling as the morning goes on.

    As far as the back, how long did you give yourself after waking? I need 30-45 minutes to wake up before I can do anything high effort. 20 rep snatches with the 16k take some effort You did all pulling exercises too, might consider throwing some light squats and renegade rows in there to give the back a break. I find alternating hands between reps is easier on my back if it’s feeling tired.

  2. Mike said,

    time, none. I woke up, wandered out there and did it. Less that five minutes from my feet hitting the floor to when I did my first swing. I also like to give myself some wake up time but if I’m going to do a workout in the morning, I don’t really have time.
    I avoided pressing because my triceps were a little sore still from Friday. I will plan on having some of those throw in there. I was thinking though, as I walked the dog later, that maybe I could do a little light sandbag (100lbs) work and maybe some tire pulls mixed in.
    I’m thinking about trying to have at least 5 different workouts, something like:
    Monday: Swings and Snatches
    Tuesday: Sandbag clean and squat
    Wednesday: Tire dragging
    Thursday: Kettlebell presses and rows
    Friday: Windmills and overheadsquats
    Saturday: Juggling
    Sunday: off maybe

    Of course this is all highly experimental, what do you think?

  3. Scott Styles said,

    You thrive on variety. It looks good to me.

  4. Stephen said,

    Mike: Welcome to the morning crew. Before long it will be as normal as brushing your teeth.

  5. Mike said,

    Stephen,
    Thanks, I think. 🙂

    Scott,
    I guess we all have to have our addictions.


Comments are closed.


