Anvil or Hammer


Tabata it is

Posted in Cardio,Kettlebells by Mike on June 14, 2007

Ran with the dog in the park, actually played fetch. I got a 15 foot head start, my wife threw the ball and I raced the dog for it…and she won, repeatedly. Approximately 10 yards, approximately 6 times.

I had to reaquaint myself with Tabata. I found it explained on T-Nation in a Dan John article. Roughly, 20 seconds of work, 10 seconds of rest X 8. It looks like some folks count their lowest reps in a set and some average them. You use full body, and often bodyweight, exercises. I used 24K kettlebell snatches, switching hands each set.

Right 11
Left 11
Right 11
Left 11
Right 10
Left 10
Right 10
Left 10

These were pretty hard by the end. I thought sets 6 and 7 were a good eleven but the official judge felt  I was getting too much backswing before my time started, she was probably right.

I will do some Tabata again, it makes for a long 4 minutes.

2 Responses to 'Tabata it is'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. brent said,

    i’ve yet to find the balls to try a tabata workout

  2. Mike said,

    It’s one of those things you gotta do. It’s like a ten minute test or deciding your going to snatch that next bigger weight. You’ll never be prepared until after you do it several times. Accept that parts of it will suck and do it.

    I gotta admit, I think I could have hit 11 on the ones where I got 10 if I could suck it up just a little harder, but I guess that is why we do these things.


Comments are closed.


