Anvil or Hammer


Stress relief

Posted in Kettlebells by Mike on June 6, 2007

ever just have one of those days where you find yourself in the car and for no reason at all, you are just stressed. That was today. Fortunately, I had the gym to go to.

Warm up – jump rope (poorly) for 3 minutes

1 minute rest, 2 minutes work
Rest 1 (I always start with rest) – 1 pull up
Round 1  – Heavy Bag
Rest 2 -1 pull up
Round 2 -32K 2 hand swing X 50 (30,10,10)
Rest 3 – 1 pull up
Round 3 – 16K walking lunge X 50
Rest 4 – 1 chin
Round 4 – Heavy Bag
Rest 5 – 1 pull up
Round 5 – 32K 2 hand swings X 48 (25,15,8)
Rest 6 – 1 chin
Round 6 – 16K Sumo deadlift X 50
Rest 7 – 1 pull up
Round 7 – Heavy Bag
Rest 8 – 1 chin
Round 8 – 32K 2 hand swings X 50 (20,10,10,10)
Rest 9 – 1 chin
Round 9 – 16K 2 hand clean/squat X 50
Rest 10 – 1 chin
Round 10 – Heavy Bag

This workout felt really good. I got some cardio, I got some conditioning, not too much strength training, that was my desire. I also felt very destressed. Working out rocks.

7 Responses to 'Stress relief'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Scott Styles said,

    YEAH, I GOTTA DO THAT!!! LIFTING RULES!!!

    Nice workout. Those 32k swings and walking lunges with the 16k look tough.

  2. Mike said,

    I wish there were a thumbs up smiley, I’d use it.
    Scott,
    I thought this would be one you could appreciate it. I’ve been trying to work out some of these circuits. They’re hard to get balanced but they can work really well when I do.
    I actually enjoyed this one enough, I would love for some other people to try it and get their feed back. I felt really good coming out of that, this morning I have a couple muscles with just a touch of soreness, nothing that won’t go away today.
    You managed to dial in on exactly the two most challenging things in there, at least for me. I don’t know what it is about lunges that can make them so tough.

  3. Scott Styles said,

    I just pick out the rounds I have no chance of getting through. Those are the ones I like 🙂 I’ll probably end up doing some sort of circuit stuff next week. I have to travel for work. 4 nights in a hotel with no weights. I’m taking the train, so I’ll bring my 16k or 20k kettlebell and the H2H DVDs. Should be fun.

  4. Mike said,

    I gotta say that traveling with kettlebells kicks oh so much butt. First, it’s nice to be able to workout anytime anywhere. Second, You meet the coolest people. People will see you outside with the bells and watch, then at the crappy continental breakfast the next day they want to talk to you about it. It’s really neat.

  5. Scott Styles said,

    I expect I will get some looks. I’m not really of the “class” of people who patronize the hotel we were told to stay at. It’s absurdly expensive, a Sheraton that runs $200+ a night. I tried telling the guys that they should put me up in a Super 8 and we could split the difference, but no luck.

    I hate to see the money wasted on things I don’t value. Business trips are the worst. I bet between room, food, and rental car we will waste at least $600 over the 4 days. Left to my own devices I’d stay at a cheap hotel, cook in the room, and walk to the client’s office. Then I’d used the savings to buy an awesome monitor or desk chair. If only it worked like that.

    On the bright side, there is an indoor pool. I am looking forward to that. I am going to try pistols in the water. I am tempted to bring the kettlebell in, but I’m not sure how that will go over with the staff.

  6. Mike said,

    LOL, sounds like you guys are really getting put up. Isn’t it interesting what gets prioritized by other people? Good luck with the bells, the pool pistols sound like a great idea. Good chance to show off your newly minted “buff bid” after dropping the weight.

  7. Scott said,

    Pistols in the pool? Great idea – let us all know how it turns out. Just make sure you do them in the shallow end 🙂


Comments are closed.


