Anvil or Hammer


50 rep snatch, a word of explanation

Posted in Kettlebells by Mike on May 29, 2007

I owe a word of explanation on my recent acquisition of a quest for a fifty rep snatch. As you might have figured out by now, I read a few blogs regularly. One of those is Royce’s Blog. Royce is a big guy, like someone I know, who is trying to drop 60 lbs, the hard way.
Through that blog I came across Rif’s Blog. I don’t know a ton about Rif but I know he is a former powerlifter turned hardcore kettlebell guy. Rif was the first person I encountered who even suggested the idea of a 50 rep snatch (a brief search tells me I don’t know where it is he first mentions it).
Anyway, it s to Rif that I owe a thanks for the proposition of the 50 rep snatch. I recall when i went from 10 to 20 that my ability to snatch for time went up dramatically. I see a shot at 50 reps as a triple threat: TSC preparation, cardio, grip. So that is why I strive for it.

A hammer and anvil quote for today –
“We feel like our heads are hammered on a horrible anvil”
Barber of Seville

Comments Off on 50 rep snatch, a word of explanation

