Anvil or Hammer


Weekend strong

Posted in Rest and Recovery by Mike on April 22, 2007

Lotsa recovery this weekend, I have found it’s about impossible for me to sleep a full eight hours after the last couple years of less. I got 5-6 miles of walking in with the dog, she’s exhausted ๐Ÿ™‚ . Preparing for visiting realtives is going very well.

I look forward to a couple more days off before the event. Some chores to do but not a lot. Some good food to be eaten, good recovery and a workout or two.

Also, Stephen’s site is coming along. The technical stuff is done. I need to adjust some things. Also I got the first chunk of a document done that I will convert to HTML at some point as refernce to all new trainingsyndicate bloggers.

oh, anyone know any reasonably priced computer video editing software? Just cuts, fades and maybe text.

7 Responses to 'Weekend strong'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Scott Styles said,

    Windows Movie Maker comes with Windows XP SP2. That’s what I use. It’s typically under Accessories.

  2. Scott said,

    How about Quicktime? It’s handy if your camera exports .mov by default (a lot of them do), but it’ll handle other formats. About $30 I think.

    On the sleep thing, how much do you usually get? I’m up to about 6 most days (was around 4 for a long time).

  3. Mike said,

    I’ll start with movie maker (since it’s free) but I’ll think about quicktime too, that’s pretty reasonable.
    I sleep 6 hours most nights 11pm – 5 am. I don’t have time for naps and that sort of thing. A few years ago I had more free time and would do close to 8 hours at night and an hour during the day. It was when I first started back to lifting. Between that and eating all I wanted, recovery was a non issue. When I moved to Baltimore, my sleep quality was so awful that one the weekend I could sleep 10 hours and still be exhausted and I think eight hours at night was normal, if I recall. Then at some point, probably when I moved to my little suburban oasis,I stated getting up earlier and earlier for different reasons. Now I find that I want to get up before eight hours. This morning is perfect example. I woke up about 5 but since I have the week off I just stayed in bed for a bit. After a while my wife kicked me out, she sleeps 60 – 90 minutes longer and I couldn’t lay still enough to not wake her. I’m not tired or anything, just surprised that I can’t do the 8 hours thing.

  4. Scott Styles said,

    You guys get by on less sleep than me. I need to average 7-7.5 hours a night. I generally am in bed from 10pm to 6am. I make it a point to get up at the same time every day, regardless of what time I went to bed. My sleep quality probably isn’t very good right now (I live across from a freight train line), so maybe the amount I need will be less once I move next weekend.

  5. Mike said,

    I’d be interested to know how that changes with the move Scott. Best of luck with that. I would lend a hand, expcept for the 11 hour drive.

  6. Scott said,

    ‘I donโ€™t have time for naps and that sort of thing.’

    That always amazes me. After all, if napping helps you sleep less, you have more free time. Still, 6 hours seems perfectly reasonable. No point changing just for the sake of it.

    Scott, as Mike said, I’d give you a hand to move if I lived a bit closer. I’ve got a feeling it’d be a lot more than a 12hr commute though ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Scott Styles said,

    Thanks guys. I’ve wised up and have movers coming to take the big stuff. I’m happy to pay a couple hundred bucks to transfer the risk of getting hurt carrying a king size bed around.


Comments are closed.


