Anvil or Hammer


Lump

Posted in Kettlebells,Rest and Recovery,Technical Update by Mike on April 20, 2007

Well it was another beautiful Thursday morning yesterday. I wanted to get out and play. Unfortunately it was another beautiful Thursday just toying with my fragile emotions. Little drizzle here, little menacing cloud there. So I did Providence.

I was surprised. I expected to totally own it this time with the 16K bell. I didn’t I was slacking on the lunges and forget about the triple crush and abs rounds. I didn’t quit or anything, I just have no doubt that I sucked. I don’t know if it was poor recovery from Tuesday or what.

I have gym duty tonight. I’m gonna try and hit it pretty hard but I don’t expect to pull off the double workouts I have been doing. We’ll just see what happens. I’m thinking about shooting for high, high volume. I somehow banged my wrist up last night, I don’t think it will hold me back though.

Things are looking good on the trainingsyndicate front. It looks like some people are getting minorly increased traffic and it is helping. It looks like Stephen is gonna be the first ever trainingsyndicate blogger. I will get him set up this weekend and whenever he feels comfortable next week, I’ll advertise his adress here. It wasn’t a one time deal. That’s a standing offer to others too.

This week I wrap I wrap up a very ugly week at work, 12 hour days. Next week I have my first family visitors since I moved to Baltimore (roughly a year and a half ago). You can bet it’s a big deal. That means my training and posting will probably be a little off from the usual. Still I will get some gym outings in. I want to show off my training areas to my brother-in-law, another weightlifter.

6 Responses to 'Lump'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Scott Styles said,

    12 hour days are really hard, I don’t know how some people do it year in and year out. After a few months, my health starts to suffer from even 10 hours days. You’re doing well to keep the training up during it.

  2. Mike said,

    The good news is that it’s on a very limited basis. As a rule I don’t do overtime and I don’t skip lunch. Every once in a while I make a short term sacrifice. Right now, one of my coworkers in on vacation and does a lot of daily tasks that I am doing. Normally I would just take it out of my regular day but I’m busy enough these days that is right out. It’s compounded by my being off all next week.
    The good news is that I’m just under two hours away from vacation…..:-)

  3. Scott Styles said,

    Sounds like the vacation will be well earned. I’m with you on the overtime and lunch. If I work extra, I should get paid extra. Giving away my time for free will only devalue it.

    Regardless of pay, I view whether or not I have to work a lot of overtime as one of the measures of my success doing my job. If on a regular basis I fail to accurately evaluate the work I can get done in a normal week and manage my comittments accordingly, I’m doing something wrong.

  4. Chris Rice said,

    Enjoy your vacation!

  5. Stephen said,

    I’m looking forward to blogging. The anticipation has already sharpened my focus on some of the ordinary details of my workouts. For example, I take for granted the warmup work I do. I recently attended a “Spine” workshop/clinic put on by Chip Conrad at Physical Subculture/BodyTribe. I’ve incorporated a number of new exercises to my warmup and flexibility routine (Saxon Bends, Side Presses, Windmills, Twists). I’m going to take a medicine ball to the track this week for my warmup. Thanks for reading.

  6. Scott said,

    Stephen, looking forward to your blog. It’s always great to see how someone else does things.


Comments are closed.


