Anvil or Hammer


Kettlebell Painting, Practice Run

Posted in Kettlebells by Mike on March 4, 2007

Oh, this is too easy.

I bought a whole mess of Rustoleum spray paint. I decided I needed a practice run. I’ve never really used spreay paint or painted a kettlebell. I have a 4K bell that I never use, it’s going to work to be my paperweight. It began as all kettlebells begin.
KB4KBlack
I made  a suspension to work from. It doesn’t permit me to spin the bell but that is okay, I’ll work with what I have. I also used tape to mask the handle. I think I’m going to leave the handles black. So I primed it.
KB4KPrime
Any layer of paint takes about 2 – 5 minutes to apply then I go do something else for half an hour. if you wanted to get some mixing of color you could do this quicker. I started with orange.
KB4KFirstLayer
Then I decided I wanted to go over it quickly with red, hoping to give it some highlights. in retrospect I did this backward. I should have gone over it with red then orange and just let some of the red show through.
KB4KSecondLayer
Then I let it dry overnight.
KB4KPaint
Now I have a distinctive kettlebell.
KBFamily1
Next I will start in on a bell I actually use….

2 Responses to 'Kettlebell Painting, Practice Run'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Scott said,

    Nice one. Looks like you’ve got quite a collection there – are you going to paint all of them?

  2. Mike said,

    Yeah, we’ve got a few. The 4K is done, the 8K is my wifes bell. She says she’s gonna paint it. I’m gonna leave that entirely to her. The 16K is next on my list and I can hardly wait. I believe it will also be orange, I’m thinking Biohazard. I hope to paint the 24K in time for the contest. I think it will be Atomic, yellow with black markings.


Comments are closed.


