Anvil or Hammer


Let the cravings begin

Posted in Other by Mike on February 15, 2007

I don’t know why this always happens. Just as I’m really hitting a stride in my diet, I get cravings. I start to want foods that I don’t ever think about, like a Wendy’s triple bacon cheeseburger. I don’t even eat Wendy’s yet here it is. So I’m going to attempt a controled burn. A couple days of relaxed diet. Not off diet, just relaxed. I’ll try to keep it below 260 and back on the wagon next week.

Tomorrow I have two hours to kill in the gym and I have to work this weekend so i can’t do strongman. So I’m gonna try to kill myself for two hours. I’m taking suggestions but I’m thinking
Deadlift
Rack Pull
Squat
Half Squat
Military Bench
Overhead Press
Lunges
Rows
Back Extensions
Kettlebell
We’ll see how I do and if I survive

Oh and the spam bot found my little hide away, 31 spams today.

11 Responses to 'Let the cravings begin'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Scott Styles said,

    I find dropping weight requires me to have 1-2 cheat days a week to be sustainable. Nothing wrong with that as long as you keep it clean the rest of the time.

  2. Scott Styles said,

    Another thing, I found having a vitamin early in the day, as well as some salted almonds, greatly reduces cravings for crap.

  3. Mike said,

    I do the vitamins, men’s multiformula and fish oil with breakfast. I also do salted almonds, one handful (approximately 15 almonds) at about 2pm. I usually do have a cheat day once or twice a week, by cheat I mean that we have pizza instead of good homemade food.

  4. Chris Rice said,

    Add in a little direct stomach work maybe in between other stuff?

  5. Mike said,

    Chris,

    I misunderstood you at first. I figured it out now.
    in between tomorrows exercises. That’s a good idea, that’ll leave me hurting.

  6. Stephen said,

    I’ve discovered eating additional protein knocks down the cravings; otherwise I get urges to eat anything in sight. Packaged tuna and protein pudding are convenient.

  7. Mike said,

    Stephen,

    You may have something there. Some days I may be a bit protein deficient…. I’ll have to look around for good protein filled snacks.

  8. Stew said,

    Thats a nice looking routine. I find when I lift extremely heavy I get the uncontrollable hunger cravings too. I usually end up satisfying them too, because I know my body craves the nutrients. What are your dieting goals? Are you trying to achieve or maintain a specific body fat level?

  9. Mike said,

    I tend to give into the idea that my body craves nutrients too, but the flip side is that I wouldn’t be overweight, cravings will come with diet, in my opinion.
    I don’t have a specific body fat number I am shooting for but I’d like to get my bodyweight down to 235 for now. I think in the long run I’d like even drive for 225 but I’ll reevaluate it at 235. I’d also like to get a waste circumference of less than 40 inches. i’m not exactly aspiting all that huge here but you have to start somewhere.

  10. Stew said,

    Shoot Mike!

    You’re a big guy. I thought I was huge, weighing in just under 225 at 6 foot. My waist size is about 37″ at this weight.

    Those goals seem very realistic, if you stay focused and motivated, there is no doubt you will reach them. And then, once you’ve reached them you’ll have no goals to work for. Rinse and repeat 🙂

  11. Mike said,

    It’s funny that you mention that you thought you were huge. I had the opposite problem for a while. It wasn’t until I saw the video of me training (In the sidebar) that I really thought about it. I have always weighed more than I looked (I was told). I was pretty much convinced I was a muscly stud. Then I saw the video and realized I was fooling myself. I remember being in Nutrition class a couple years ago and getting really annoyed with the different guidelines that have been set as to what is healthy because I was way over all of them and yet it was clear to me that I was totally healthy.


Comments are closed.


