Anvil or Hammer


May be ok

Posted in Strongman by Mike on February 10, 2007

Headed to Luke’s for some Strongman

yoke walk (4 showing above)
330 long walk (parking space, 15 – 20 yrds)
510 long walk
650 short walk (about 10 yrds)
730 1/2 short walk (call it 5 yrds)
780 4 steps (stopped because the uneven weight distribution made it wobbly)
830 2 step
830 1 step
I’m pretty happy with this actually. The contest weight will be 800, so it’s just a matter of getting some more steps in there. Also, as Luke pointed out, last time I barely locked out 850, so a few steps with 830 is big.

Lockout – 910
It seemed stupid to push one so I called it there. Perhaps I can push on to 1000 at some point.

Front Carry (bar at the bottom of th yoke)
150 short walk
250 short walk
330 long walk
430 long walk
510 longest walk (20 full yards) with three drops

3 Responses to 'May be ok'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Kris said,

    Hi there! Sorry for not being around of late, really busy pulling the virtual meet together. That’s also (sadly) the reason for this comment. I would send this by e-mail, but couldn’t locate it anywhere so… I am wondering whether you yourself or someone with a powerlifting background reading this would be interested in functioning as the third judge for our inaugural meet? This entails watching the meet footage of five lifters and then filling in a scoresheet. Based on the feedback I’m getting from the other two judges, this would not be more than 2.5 hours of work tops (not counting download time). I am specifically looking for someone who has at least some experience from powerlifting meets either as a lifter, judge or spectator and who has a good idea of what to look for in a good/bad lift. Since you are flying the virtualmeet.net banner I thought this might be a good place to ask around at… If anyone is interested, shoot me an e-mail at kris@tsampa.org ASAP. We have our own rulebook, so judges do have something to go by. The judges are having a good time doing this, so it should be fun. 🙂

    The project site is here: Virtualmeet.net.

  2. Mike said,

    Kris,

    I’ll comment back as well as drop you and email. I’m concerned I don’t have the background to be a powerlifting judge. I never actually competed. I was recently surprised to learn that you don’t have to pause at the bottom of a squat. If you can’t find any more judges, i’ll be happy to help. I’ll ask around a bit and see if I can find someone with more experience but consider me a willing reserve.

  3. Kris said,

    Thanks! Sent you a response by e-mail.


Comments are closed.


