Anvil or Hammer


Learning Curve Shortens

Posted in Gym Strength by Mike on January 31, 2007

Back to Dumbarton today. I opted to not do the supermax workout.

Oly squats:
3 X bar (20K)
3 X 40K
3 X 60K
3 X 100K
3 X 100K
3 X 140K
3 X 140K
3 X 160K
3 x 160K
1 X 180K
1 X 180K
I got kinda carried away with the squats. It wasn’t really intentional. I figured out something about my body positioning during these. I have traditionally tried to do these with the really boxy, power style leg positioning. I recall hearing Dan John say something about how you have to remember that your torso is suspended between your legs. I never could make sense of that but I think I finally got it right. For me, I have to almost think about trying to keep my lower legs pointed straight up while kind pushing my knees out. It’s not an accurate description of what I’m actually doing, it’s just how I have to think about it to make it work. It makes my knees not hurt and it makes me get low like you see in the iron mind videos.
I actually went for a second one on the last set of  180k, I had it in me to. Unfortunately, I got a tad off balance at the bottom. I actually managed to bring the weight back under control, unfortunately I had really buried myself at that point, I just couldn’t make it back out from under it. So I dumped it. oops.

Front Squats
60K 5 X 5
70K 3 X 5
These felt really good, I actually had them racked right. the big surprise was that my hands hurt afterward, they aren’t used to being hyperextended like that. That will take some adjustment and training.

Strict Press
185 X1 a whole bunch of times
I was just running out of gas.

Tomorrow I’m off, I had considered the tire but the weather is supposed to be horrible. Instead I checked out a DVD from the library on some varient of Tai Chi, I’ll let you know how that goes. I’ll try to comment more tomorrow on what led me to try Tai Chi and on the strongman thing.

4 Responses to 'Learning Curve Shortens'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Chris Rice said,

    ALL RIGHT! It came together for you – 180K !!! My god man – that’s an awesome full squat! You are bull strong my friend – if you can pull it all together , I can see some really nice C&J s in your future. Sometimes it’s all about finding that one little thing that brings it all together for you. You found the squat, next maybe the pull or Front Squat – then maybe the whole squat clean – whoa – getting ahead of myself there – LOL. Anyway nice job. Somewhere around here I have a Tai Chi short form tape of the guy who taught it to me – I’ll see if I can find it.

  2. Mike said,

    Thanks Chris, although you are getting ahead of me on the whole squat clean coming together :-P. Still, I was happy with the squats, ticked I had to dump the one, but happy overall. I will be working on getting my front squat numbers up too, I consider them pretty terrible. I had planned on doing more with those yesterday but was surprised to find my hands aching pretty bad a s a result of the stretch I described. I think I’m going to have to start doing a few light sets every session just to get the body used to the position, then I can go for weight. The squat clean has a ways to go yet.

    What did you think of Tai Chi when you did it?

  3. Chris Rice said,

    Tai Chi – moving meditation is one of the most relaxing things I have ever done mentally. I would do it before going to bed and sleep like a babe. It takes a little while to learn the movements of course but it’s worth the time I think. It’s surprising how easy/hard it is. It seems like nothing but then your legs start shaking and you realize it’s pretty good stuff. We’ve taught it a few times here to our senior citizens – it’s the best thing I have found to help them with balance etc. It can be a wicked self defense system as I was shown by the guy who taught me but I’m not much with that part. I wouldn’t consider it as a tool for strength but I thought it had some real benefits in other ways. It’s worth the time.

  4. Mike said,

    Sounds about right, I’m not thinking of it as a strength thing but more of a recovery thing. Something swappable with yoga. I have heard it is a good defense tool if you speed it up. I like martial arts a lot but doubt I will try at anytime in the near future. I read a bit about the pushing forms, where you do it with a partner, that seems really interesting.


Comments are closed.


