Anvil or Hammer


A Deep Sense of Panic

Posted in Uncategorized by Mike on January 30, 2007

A deep sense of panic fills me as I finally look upon the upcoming strongman contest, May 12th. Observe:

Event Light Weights Heavy weights (me)
Log Clean & Press 230 lbs 280 lbs
Farmer’s Walk 50 ft 300lbs 330lbs
Stone Load 260 – 355lbs 270 – 385lbs
Fire Hydrant Carry and Chain Drag 280lbs & 580lbs 315lbs & 640lbs
Yoke Walk and Tire Flip 710 & 725 800 & 725

To recap:

A log press 35lbs over my current best
Farmers Walk 44lbs/hand over my current best
Stone Load beginning at my current best, I believe
Fire Hydrant carry 75lbs over my best carry so far
Chain Drage that I have never done
Yoke walk 115lbs over my current best
and the tire flip if I get to it.

I just keep telling myself that I have time to make it. This is why we do these things, competitions. To force ourselves to push for numbers we would have never otherwise gone for. It also makes me think that despite my desire to give this supermax workout a fair shot, that thing will have to be shelved. I need to move some iron and sand if I expect to make this. Now I just need to get my check in.

so am I overreacting?

6 Responses to 'A Deep Sense of Panic'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Scott Styles said,

    Might be easier to drop into the light weights? Would that align better with your goals as well?

  2. Mike said,

    I probably should have mentioned the weight classes:
    Super Light < =200 Light <=231 Heavy <=265 Super Heavy >265

    So I do agree with you Scott and long term I really would like that for more reasons than lighter weights, I don’t think though, that it’s gonna or should happen in 3 months. That seems kinda ill advised.

  3. Chris Rice said,

    Strongman contests are just getting insanely heavy any more. The days of doing them just on a lark for the heck of it are pretty much gone. You have to specialize and be very serious to play anymore. I’ve always wanted to try a couple but I can’t begin to play at the current levels necessary anymore.

    The question for you is simple in my mind – can you do this without excess danger of injury? The events are ALL over your current maxes but will they be over at the time of the meet in May? Who knows? I don’t worry about the embarrassment factor of failing to complete an event – who really cares about that – can you do this within reasonable chances of injury? Another question is: does this get you closer to all the other goals you have set for yourself – the weight loss, movement skills etc. Only you can decide?

  4. Mike said,

    Chris, you ask simple but very tough questions. I don’t know the answers. I’ll have to think about this.
    Injury, I’m not too worried about that.
    Competitive, you said not to worry about it but, not a chance.
    Work toward my goals…..hmm
    and yes the days of doing them for a lark are, sadly, over, I may have to look for some “silver” level contests, they should be a bit more tuned in to that kind of thing….


  5. […] Contest – I’m gonna do it. Chris and Scott both said some important things in the comments of that post. Most of them steer me away from doing it. I hate to chicken out of something on site though, […]

  6. Mike said,

    Too funny, I linked to myself and got a trackback to myself, thus, the blog commented on itself above.
    I’ll have to see if I can figure out how to turn that off.


Comments are closed.


