Anvil or Hammer


Race against gravity

Posted in Gym Strength by Mike on January 15, 2007

I ended up not getting anything done yesterday.

I had to work today for a special project.

Fortunately for me, the gym was open today. I broke out my “new” oly shoes and took them for a ride. I’m trying to learn to squat clean. I used some tips written up by Chris Rice as my guide.

Front Squat, 60k. A few. Sitting nice and low. I still tend to lean too far over

Full Extenion Clean, 40k and 60k. I start in the highest position of the clean, on the toes, shoulders shrugged and try to get under the bar before it hits the ground, the race a against gravity. It took a while to get any of these caught. I found that with 40k it was just too easy to cheat. I used 60k to try and avoid the little wrist flip I was doing. I think even a 60K I was slipping a little hitch in there to make it so I could get low in time. I did this for about an hour, call it 50 – 100 reps.

High Hang Clean (bar above the knees), 80K. These were pretty easy at first even though I was starting to feel it a bit. I was gonna do them for half hour but at 20 minutes I was suddenly missing them for no reason and it was clear to me that I had done enough and my nerves were shot. Call it 10 – 20 reps

Squat, oly style, 100K. 20 reps. took my time but didn’t set it down.

2 Responses to 'Race against gravity'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Chris Rice said,

    Be careful – you can fry your CNS pretty easy in the beginning with that much volume and trying to move as quickly as possible all the time. If your body starts “feeling stupid” – it’s time to switch to the next thing in the routine.

  2. Mike said,

    Oh my body feel stupid often. 🙂
    Yeah, I was trying to avoid the fry but instead ran right up against it. I was trying to keep the weights low and the breaks decent. I had pretty good luck until the bit right before the squats. I found that all of a sudden I just couldn’t get low enough fast enough and when I did I was way out of position. That’s when I decided it was time to really think about going home.


Comments are closed.


