Anvil or Hammer


Holiday Travels Part 3: Y-M-C-A

Posted in Gym Strength by Mike on December 26, 2006

I went for a two mile run this morning, or so I thought. At about 1.5 miles my calves and lower back had had it. I alternated walking and running the rest of the way home. kind of disappointing

 

This afternoon we went to the YMCA. I don’t recall all the reps, it was largely a goof off session with my Brother-in-law but we got a good workout in too.

Deadlift
135, 225, 315, 405, 495, 500

Cleans
135 a whole bunch of times. He tried to help me with my clean form. He’s pretty good at them, he trains with Kevin Fulton. I have a long way to go.

Snatches
135, just playing

one arm snatch
65, not much

2″ Dumbell Snatch – some

2″ Dumbell Deadlift – I worked up to 120

Concept II – I got on one of these, the first time in a very long time. The counter in the top right, RPMs or some such, was at about 40 for the first minute and dropped toward 30 in the second minute. I was totally anaerobic when I was done. I’m gonna get me one of these. I’m researching them on the web. It looks like $850 to commit but Laura likes them as much or more than me so I think we can swing it. We’ll just fight over who gets it each night 😉

Now off to eat more, and more, and more :-D. It’s all good, things will change when I get home, I’m just enjoying the holidays. I hope you all are too.

2 Responses to 'Holiday Travels Part 3: Y-M-C-A'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Chris Rice said,

    The Concept II is a sneaky little devil – I kept a bucket beside the rower for the first few weeks because it would sneak up on me so quickly in the beginning until I sort of figured it all out. But what an awesome aerobic workout! Well unless you end up anaerobic which happens at times.

  2. Mike said,

    It is sneaky but I really like it. I wanted to go over again today to use it and tried to keep it aerobic. I’ll post about it in a sec.


Comments are closed.


