Anvil or Hammer


little pulling **Correction/Retraction**

Posted in Gym Strength by Mike on December 20, 2006

I made it to Dumbarton today, I started out real solid but quickly came apart. I got to see Dan and do some cleans toward the end so it was a good way to end the workout. Overall, it’s probably good that I’m about to take a break.

Deadlift
90K (198 lbs) X 3 Double Overhand
140K (308 lbs) X 3 DO(double overhand PR)
190K (418 lbs) X 2 DO with chalk
250K (551 lbs) X 1 mixed
253K (557 lbs) X 1 mixed oops, I wasn’t really shooting for a PR here. I didn’t check mu numbers and was just loading up the bar. I’ve recounted half a dozen times and it keep scoming out the same: bar (20K), 6 reds (25K), 2 blues (20K), 2 greens (10K), 1 1/2 K. I atually took a shoot at 270K and just barely broke it off the ground. If I had pulled that, that would hae just been wrong.
No wonder I was hurting after all this
CORRECTION =============CORRECTION
I got to thinking about this last pull again today, the number just seemed wrong, totally wrong. I reran the math in my head and kept coming up with a number more like I expected. The actual PR 512lbs. That seems way more accurate. I think I was counting the bar twice.

Overhead press
5 X 5 70K (154lbs)

dips, my arms hurt I only got a couple individual reps.

worked some cleans with Dan, worked on hook grip. Not a fan but it seems to give me a more straight up and down bar path.

I had orignially planned on squats on Wednesday but I’m thinking about kettlebells instead. We’ll see.

I’m off of vacation starting Thursday but wil come up with a few posts while I’m away. I hope eveyone has great holidays.

6 Responses to 'little pulling **Correction/Retraction**'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Chris Rice said,

    Congrats or the DL PR! Looking good. One thing I have found at least for me is that the dead lift and clean don’t go together in the same workout – I just mess up whichever I do second technique wise. The pull is different for each and my body can’t switch quickly enough I guess.

  2. Scott Styles said,

    Congrats on the PR!

  3. Kris said,

    Great pulling und Happy Holidays!

  4. Mike said,

    Thanks guys, I think not knowing I wasn’t supposed to be able to pull it helped.

    Chris, you are almost certainly correct. I didn’t really do any kind of full workout with the cleans but wanted to feel cleans again in preparation. I probably would have disagreed with it being a different motion until just last night. Dan talked me into trying to pull with hook grip for the first time and it makes an enormous difference.

  5. Chris Rice said,

    Clean pull and dead lift pull should be quite different in execution. I’m sure Dan can show you the differences but a first pull, second pull kind of thing should happen with the clean as you set your body up for the “explosion” portion of the pull. If you watch video of the Oly lifters, you’ll see that their knees kind of come forward and under the bar to set up a sort of “jump” with the weights position – this allows for a large acceleration of the bar at the top so you can get under it. Also the pull for a power clean is much different than for a squat clean. A little study of videos will show you the differences. Depending on where you’re going with them should determine what kind of pull you should be trying to develop. Learning to pull for the power clean with be a handicap if later on you decide to do the full version – I know because that’s what I did.

  6. Mike said,

    Believe me, the poor guy has tried. I have so much to learn there, I may have to invest in some more coachings but I can’t afford it at the moment.

    The power clean V full clean thing, something I have never thought about. I will though.


Comments are closed.


