Anvil or Hammer


Not much

Posted in Grip,Uncategorized by Mike on December 7, 2006

Just playing around, bent a timber tie. Whoever told me it was more about overcoming the pain that anything else (Dan?) was right.  These are pretty easy but they hurt. Gonna have to condition those IronMind pads I got forever ago, then learn how to use them. That’s just a lot of material.
Gripper:
T 3,3
1 3,3
2 0,0
yep that bad. You three closers probably can’t even imagine failing on the 2.

4 Responses to 'Not much'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Scott Styles said,

    I can’t imagine how bending a timber tie seems painful to someone who is squatting over 400lbs. Makes me wonder about your wraps or bending style.

  2. Mike said,

    mm, 400lbs has never been that painful for me. My hands have been kinda sissy lately but bending the tie does hurt. The pads are the same crap ones that, if I recall, you rightly called pathetic when I described them in the past. They are the hands of a an old pair of gloves that I cut out. I’ve got some IM pads that I just need to shape up, I just always hated to manage all the fabric involved. I’m sure the fact that I haven’t been bending for quite some time plays in there as well.
    Oh, and style, underhanded. One of the few, I know. I never liked the folding style, putting my hand on the end of a nail and pushing never seemed like a great idea.

  3. Scott Styles said,

    Ah, there you go, it’s your pads. I think you might be suprised how little pain is involved in bending a timber tie with a pair of seasoned Ironmind pads. I’ve been doing quite a bit of double underhand lately, and it’s the most painless of the bending styles IMO.

  4. Mike said,

    Well, Scott. I went and found my IM pads. I coated one side with chalk and folded them into thirds. They are now under some phone and cook books. Tomorrow I will roll them and band them to som 1/4″ steel. We’ll see how it goes.


Comments are closed.


