Anvil or Hammer


D’oh, woohoo

Posted in Gym Strength by Mike on November 27, 2006

So first the d’oh. I got word today that there is a 90% likelyhood I will not be able to participate in Gripmas. I won’t bore you with the details.

Woohoo
I did get a pretty decent Dumbarton workout in.

Squat – I’m playing with this a lot trying to find my groove again, I’m getting closer with each try.
135 X 3
225 X 3
315 X 3
405 X 1
405 X 1
405 X 1
405 X 1
405 X 2

Dumbell press
85 lbs 5 X 5
no wories here, going up to 90 next time. May not be too long before I have to ditch this exercise due to lack of sufficient dumbells

Romanian Deadlift 110 Kilos (apparently this is also 17.4 stone, I’ll never remember that)
242 lbs 5 X 5
These were killer. I’m not sure if I will be able to handle going up next time.

Dips
Bodyweight 6 X 6

Pull ups
Bodyweight X 2
bodyweight X 1
I really suck at these. I’m considering putting some kind of pull down in for a while.

Hammer DB curls
30lbs 6 X 6

1 arm barbell snatches, I  was just playing round with this.
20K (44 lbs) X 1 each hand
30K (66 lbs) X 1 each hand
40K (88 lbs) X 1 each hand
50K (110lbs) X 1 right hand only

Clean 10 minute test 60K (132 lbs) – 50 reps
This thing was a real killer for me. The reps don’t really add up to much, for me it was mostly a wind issue. I was good for about the first three sets of five then I  was sucking air big time. I don’t know if it actually counts as cardio but it was a good conditioning exercise. I could see myself doing this again and pressing for 55 reps, really it’s just a variation on kettlebells, or the other way round depending on how you look at it.

 

I’m still planning on hitting the gym Wednesday. We’ll just see what goes down this weekend.

Comments Off on D’oh, woohoo

