Anvil or Hammer


Long time coming

Posted in Grip,Gym Strength,Kettlebells,Rest and Recovery by Mike on November 11, 2006

I haven’t posted in a few days for a combination of reasons.

Wednesday
Off day, walked per usual, no biggie

Thursday
Supposed to climb. For a variety of reason it was just not able to make it on the schedule. I held out hoe until midafternoon when it was obvious it couldn’t happen. The rest was proably good for me.

Friday
I decided that even though I missed climbing the day before, I would just plug along with my schedule, as Henry Rollins says, “You can’t catch up. You do what you do.”
Squat
135 X 3
225 X 3
315 X 3
365 X 2
405 X 1
425 X 0
These felt better this time. I’m still a little rusty but improving. For heavy squat days, I’m going to have to start taking my MP3 players. The chatty fools in the gym make it hard to get set. It is surprising how muchmy body has fogotten what it feels like to have the weight on my shoulders. It’s a bit of a psych out.

Dumbell Press
75 3 X 5
80 3 X 2

2″ DB row
70 5 X 5

Straight Leg Dealift
225 5 X 5

Rehab Curls
15lbs both arms simultaneous 40reps

Plate Pinch
4 X 10 multiple reps with both hands
5 X 10 barely broke it off the ground once with my right hand

Blob
half of an old your 85. no chance

Kettlebell
forgot my watch
16K 4 X 25 snatch
switch hands every 25, no drops

Saturday – Today
Nothing serious. long walk already done. Light jog later and possibly a short walk after that

Sunday – Tomorrow
strongman

2 Responses to 'Long time coming'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Chris Rice said,

    What – you missed a workout – you should be flogged LOL! Don’t beat yourself up man – it happens. Just go in the next time and get er done as they say. Lay offs are he.. – that’s why I really try to never actually stop for very long – it hurts too much when you start back.

  2. Mike said,

    Yeah, this return to max lifting has been a little rough on the body but I’m just trying to roll with it.
    The workout I missed on thrusday actually was purely schedule related. Worked a long day, had to dial in that night and had to do some other stuff. Just one of those times that there aren’t enough hours in the day.


Comments are closed.


