Anvil or Hammer


What’s up dog?

Posted in Grip by Mike on September 7, 2006

stupid joke but The Office reminded me of it…

My posting is lagging, work has been busy and unrelenting, so I haven’t been posting from work at all. I’ve been busy with random things at home. You know, life.

Tuesday AM: yoga, great stuff

Tuesday PM: We decided to take an evening and do absolutely nothing, and we did just that.

Wednesday AM: nada

Wedneday PM: Climbing
This went pretty well. They changed up some of my favorite routes, which probably good as I pretty much had them all worked out but liked the practice. The new V1 they put up is pretty dang hard, I question is V1ness, but I’m hardly and expert. The real killer is the crimp you have to pull of with the left hand while massively extending yourself to the right. I bite it right there.
I ‘ve been working a V2 that I conquered the first day (about the fourth attempt) but have not solved since. The last three moves kill me. You climb straight up, no problem there. Then you get to a point with where the hand holds go left and the foot holds go..nowhere. So the feet are off to the right and the hands to the left, the hands are right above each other, as are the feet. Your next hand and foot hold are out to your left. For me it pretty much requires a lunge, catch, swing and set the foot down, other people make it look easy, like climbing the underside of ladder as view from the side. Once you settle in the last handhold is right above your head and back a bit (overhang). Another lunge for me, half the time I make it to this point, half the time I don’t. When I make that final lunge, I just fail to get a good hold and bite it, fall 10 – 12 feet.
It’s not that the problem is above my level, I’ve solved it. I’m just need to work it some more. It’s not may hands failing, it’s a little bit of core and a whole lot of movement. To watch a couple people do it, it’s no big deal. I try to replicate some of their motions and it just doesn’t go the same. This is really my biggest problem climbing right now, I need more practice followed by I need more core. Hand strength comes in third or fourth in the equation for me.
Did my usual hangboard workout, brief, just to hit the hands.
Rings were down because a presentation was being given in that room, no rings this time.
Grip: Seperate from the above, I have been doing some grip but don’t always get it posted. When doing Farmer’s Walk in strongman, my grip has been the huge limiting factor. I haven’t done as much with this as I should. Some of that is because I haven’t touched a barbell in like a month now, ( I guess I did do some front squats three weeks ago at Dan’s) so I need to dust off and dust up the grippers, which I do occasionally. I haven’t been doing as much with farmer holds with my DBs as I should, mostly I’m wussing out on dragging around 200lbs of weights to take them somewhere that I can do this. I have been lifting my 35lb blockweight (1/2 of 70 DB) periodically. I can get it pretty regularly, some days I need a little extra chalk for the left hand. I have also been adding plates, My right hand has been pulling the block with 2 1/2 attached regularly. I don’t push grip too much beyond that because I figure with climbing and all I am at more risk of doing damage than undertraining.

Thursday AM: Yoga
I’m starting to toy with the idea of trying the second workout on the DVD. I still don’t have all the flexibility I need but I’m thinking that trying the second workout once a week or so, in the evening, might be good to push me.
Thursday PM: maybe tennis, almost certainly a sandbag walk will be the order of the day.

As long as I’m rambling. I’m still trying to get my but out to jog. I just can’t find the motivation. It seems like a good run, say, twice a week would make me a healthier person. I just hate running. Still the tire was fun, so I’ll keep that around. In fact, I plan to rig it up a little better to I can make more use of it.

Oh, and a while back, like the end of June, I set out lose and inch off my waist. I haven’t forgotten, I’ve just been to afraid to check. I’ve lost about 5 lbs but I’m pretty sure I failed at my goal. I’m still trying to watch what I eat to a certain degree but more importantly, trying to get some degree of cardio in my program (sandbag walks and so on).

7 Responses to 'What’s up dog?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Scott Styles said,

    Still following this. You’re doing good on the climbing for someone that isn’t 130lbs.

    If you really want to drop an inch off the waist, I think you are doing enough activity. It comes down to diet. Cutting calories is no fun, but it works. The only times I’ve been successful at dropping significant weight are when I set a calorie goal that puts me in a 500-1000 calorie per day defecit, then make sure I hit it 5-6 days a week.

  2. Mike said,

    You make a good point. I struggle with calorie cutting for two reasons:
    1) I don’t regiment my diet very much, I know what I eat but I don’t know that I have a great picture of what the means to my body. I don’t feel like I can trust most websites as they are mostly crap and they are mostly for body builders and I have taken college Nutrition and that was no help.
    2) Moments of weakness, you know Friday night pizza and beer, That second bagel calling my name, just one more of those choclate chip cookies I baked.

    Those aren’t excuses. I’m just thinking.
    I have some time to meditate on this. You’ll hear more. Thanks Scott.

  3. Scott Styles said,

    I’ve never been successful at restricting junk food. Pizza, bagels, cookies. If I have them, I’m going to eat them until I’m full. Even at 150lbs, if I went to the pizza buffet, I was eating pizza till I was sick.

    To be succesful at leaning out, I have to make a conscious decision that most meals will not include junk. It sucks and I’ve not been interested in doing it in few years, but it does work. Once or twice a week, you eat whatever you want.

    The other issue though, is maintaining the weight loss. Pretty much, whatever you do to get there, you have to keep doing to stay there. You get a little more flexibility, but It’s not like you can drop 20lbs then go back to eating “normally.” Permanent changes have to be made, since at a lighter weight, your caloric demands are lower.

    That fact is exactly why I have not been interested in being lean in the last few years. Eating a lot of good tasting food is enjoyable. What better time to indulge than in your 20’s? The body can still handle it, and finally the wallet can support something better than fast food.

  4. Mike said,

    All of what you say above makes total sense to me. Although my ideas have shifted a bit on the last paragraph. I decided a while back that, for myself, the time is now. If I remain 260lbs throgh m 20s into my 30s, that’s just 10 more years of bad habits, 10 years of my metabolism declining, 10 years making to 10 time harder to lose the weight. So rather than waiting until I’m 40 and my weight has drifted slowly toward 300 to start trying to change things, I want to get started. Even if I only lose 5 lbs a year, that means that as I idle toward forty, I approach 200 rather than 300. If only I can have that kind of patience.
    The one time I have been truly lean was high school, now that sounds like a no duh to most people but my case was a little different. I was actually fat coming out of junior high, I was about 5′ 6″ or so and 185 lbs, never lifted a limb I didn’t have to. Then I started wrestling and cut and gained and cut and gained. I didn’t really diet, I just trained hard and got down to a stacked 140 at one point, with all the water out of my system that I could get. I ran an off season weight of 160-180 depending on the year. By the time I left high school I was 200 and lean. It wasn’t until I stopped training that my weight skyrocketed and my strength dropped off. I guess I was jus hoping I could recreate some of that magic. Not needing to diet but just training hard (something I enjoy). I think it’s clear that it is not working, so I think I will have to go with your recommendation of dieting. I don’t know what that wil mean for me but I’m gonna work on it.
    The real rason I am interested in being lean isn’t so much astetic, not that I would mind that, but health. I haven’t had a physical in a long time but I need to get some blood number to check my cholesterol probably. Beyond that I gaurantee that the weight I carry around my waist is not good for my back. I also figure having all my organs riding on a huge pillow of fat can’t be good. The last reason is a bit weird. Carrying those sandbags made me realize what kind of stress I’m applying to my body. I can only get 100lbs a quarter mile with several drops, even if I carry it on my shoulders it take a huge toll. I am doing that to myself every minute of every day. It has its uses but it destroys the joints and other soft tissues. It also harms my flexibility and constitution. Besides, to climb better I will need to lose some.

  5. Dan Cenidoza said,

    Good stuff in that last post Mike, I think you got the all the right reasons in mind as to why you should slim down.

    And with all the “activities” you got going on, it’s gotta be the diet that’s keeping the weight on.

    What else can you do but eat cleaner and drink more water?

  6. Mike said,

    Good question Dan. Sadly, for me, I think the answer lies within. As you and Scott have both said, I gotta diet.

  7. Scott Styles said,

    Good thoughts Mike.

    My perspective is probably a little different because growing up I was always the little guy. I entered my junior year of high school weighing 130lbs, up from 120lbs after a summer focused on weight lifting. Most of the girls were still bigger than me.

    While in college, I weighed under 150lbs more often than I weighed over 150lbs. Growing up my parents never allowed a lot of junk in the house, and even in college, I couldn’t really afford to eat a lot of junk. By the time I’d covered my core diet, my money was gone.

    I’ll probably get over the novelty of being able to eat whatever I want at some point. But, I think I’ve still got a few years to catch up on. It’s also still novel to me that when I walk down the street, people move out of my way, instead of expecting me to move out of their way. After 20 years of getting pushed aside because you’re scrawny, it’s nice to have a presence.

    You’ve got the right attitude to achieve your goals. I wish you luck. Don’t think of it as a diet. You’re developing nutritional patterns that will provide you with health long into old age. Focus on the things you should be eating, and the things you shouldn’t will gradually get pushed out of the way. You will succeed.


Comments are closed.


